Ciao Roma.

If you tell me you haven’t seen this list coming since the first day, you’re lying. Here it is, my gelato list diary of the semester:

 

Chocolate

Dark Chocolate

Frigidarium

Ciambellone

Spagnola

Chocolate chip

Hazelnut

After eight

Mont blanc

Coffee

Caramel

Black berry

Melon

Lemon

Mango

Strawberry

Raspberry

Kitkat

Peanutbutter

Mars

Chocolate with strawberries

Champagne

Crema della Nonna

Pear

Duplo

Watermelon

Cream

Limoncello

Amalfisky

Sarcher

I’d like to thank everyone who helped me through this experience. Myself, and my stomach.

I’m officially packed. And it’s scary. I don’t think I fully understand that I won’t be returning to Rome after winter break or that I won’t be living in the Albergo anymore. It’s strange thinking about how I’ve been completely immersed in Italian culture the past semester, and how it’s going to be weird when I accidently greet restaurant waiters and professors with “Buon Giorno” when I’m back in the states. I don’t even fully remember how to talk to an adult that understands perfect English. This is going to take some getting used to.

I’m convinced I’m about to experience reverse culture shock. Shock of re-entering America. It’s going to suck when coins are essentially worthless again, prices for things aren’t perfectly rounded, I don’t constantly have amazing chocolate and pastries at my disposal, and I have to put on a parka, hat, gloves, and scarf before stepping a foot outside. Today I wore a sweater with a skit. And it was gorgeous and sunny out. This snow thing in the mid-west needs to be over by the time it’s Friday.

 

What I miss already:

  • Cowcat. If it wasn’t for him, at this point in the semester I would have already bought a dog off the streets on impulse due to lack of animal/pet interaction.
  • The staff at the Albergo del Sole and Pascuccis. I’ve never eaten at a café where workers are so concerned about whether I’m getting enough fruit or have enough sandwich options as a vegetarian, or lived somewhere where the owners are willing to print off my essay papers and google map directions at all times of the day. I’ve been blessed with some truly amazing people in my life this semester that I will never forget.
  • My best gal pals. People say friendships form faster when you’re abroad due to the living arrangements and lack of Americans, but I’d like to believe that I would have found Katie, Megan, Gina, and Carole by fate anyways. I couldn’t put together a better travel group if I tried. We always say we’ll be the travel friends forever. Next stop, Jordan…
  • The food. Reference every previous blog post. Honestly.
  • Experiencing Rome with my two of my best friends. Many people get the opportunity to study abroad, but only a few get to do it with people that mean the most to them. Being here with Allie and Kristen was a freshmen year dream come true.
  • Living in a city. It’s incredible to go on a casual after dinner walk to the Trevi.

 

I’m so grateful for everything I’ve experienced this semester. From Greece, to Spain, to France, to Germany, to Hungary, to Italy, I’ve gained more knowledge than I ever thought possible. The things I’ve seen and the places I’ve experienced can hardly be summed up in 2,000 pictures and a couple dozen blog posts. I’ve learned how to budget, how to navigate transportation, how to take appropriate risks, and how to figure out situations.

There will be another post of my reminiscing over experiences and lessons to come, but I’m determined to make this night as not sad as possible.

Next time you hear from me I’ll be on U.S. ground. Ciao everyone, and ciao Roma. Thanks for everything.

Leave a comment