The next Rick Steves, coming atcha

Three. Days. How is this real? I can’t believe I’m coming back home to America before this week is over. I’ve grown, I’ve matured, but mostly, I’ve become an expert on Rome. And so I release to you this:

The Haley Bellis guide to Rome (As told by Haley Bellis)

You’re in Rome for a ten-day vacation? A twenty-four hour layover? A three-day business trip? It doesn’t matter. These are the must sees and must dos of Rome as told from a true expert (that’s what I’m claiming to be these days) in ten steps:

  1. Eat a plate of Penne alla Vodka at Tony’s. Your taste buds haven’t lived until they’ve tried this. Consider it a new awakening. This dish alone will make you want to spit on each and every Olive Garden in America for doing Italian food so badly.
  2. This one is for everyone who has just a little time in Rome. Even a layover. Go get yourself three cones of gelato. I know what you’re thinking, “Three cones of gelato? Is that necessary?” Yeah. It is. And here’s why. Different gelato places are better for different flavors. Your first cone will be from Old Bridge, and you need to figure out two flavors that are meant to be creamy. Think vanilla, hazelnut, coffee, caramel. Then you need to experience the fruit flavors via the best ultimate gelateria, Giolitti. I’m not saying get more e melone (blackberry and melon), but get more e melone. Finally, just when you’re thinking you’re full, loosen the belt because the last stop is Frigidarium. This is the best for flavors with parts (cannoli, cake with cookies, donut) and when they ask you “cream or chocolate on top?” don’t even let the sentence finish before you say “black chocolate” because black chocolate = nutella and there’s nothing more to say about that.
  3. Skip the Spanish Steps and just go to the Vatican twice. Honestly. If you’re going to be harassed by splat-ball sellers, you might as well be looking at something worth it.
  4. Invest in a water bottle early on. At the end of the day, you’ll appreciate spending 5 euro on a water bottle and not 28469472 euro on tap water in fancy jugs.
  5. Just go straight to Tazza d’Oro. Don’t even try to find another source of caffeine. Why would you when I’m giving you the inside as to where to find the best?  Go ahead and order anything on the entire menu. They’re all the best.
  6. Don’t leave home without a jar of peanut butter. One in one Americans confirmed (me) that peanut butter was number one item they packed for Rome. It won’t fit? Find a spot. They want you to pay overweight fees? It’s worth it. Don’t even think about it. Just pack it.
  7. Eat a whole pizza. Specifically from Montecarlo. You can just stop there when you’re done with your gelato run. I recommend either the pizza marinara or the pizza con verdure. But be warned; you will never be satisfied with thin crust pizza from anywhere else for the rest of your life. Set the standards high.
  8. Drink more wine. It doesn’t matter if you’ve had zero glasses today or ten; just have another. Why would you not? Wine is a part of the culture and if you aren’t drinking it then you’re doing Rome wrong. You’ll either pay 5 euro for a liter of water or 6 euro for a liter of wine. It just makes sense.
  9. AVOID THE PIAZZA NAVONA CHRISTMAS MARKET AT ALL COSTS. If I wanted to play arcade games, I would have gone to the 4H fair before I left. Piazza Navona’s concept of a Christmas market is fried food and fair games. Scary.

10. When all other snacks fail, Nutella will always be there for you. Anything with Nutella is safe to eat. Bottom line.

And voilà! You are now ten steps ahead of any other Roman-first-timer stepping off the same airplane.

The absolute best part of living in Rome is living in Rome- the concept of it. It’s fun to wake up and casually see a basilica before class to kill some time, be asked for directions on the streets by other people because you just look comfortable and like you know where you’re going, and have restaurant preferences and recommendations without looking at TripAdvisor. It’s strange to think that in 3 days I’m going to leave a place I know the ins and outs of and I have no idea when I’ll be back. But finals are over and I’m back in vacation mode. Home stretch style.

Other things that are strange, my flight on Friday morning is about the same time I would leave to go on any other trip. It’ll be a typical morning, a typical ride to the airport, with my same friends, except we’ll have to lug around our massive suitcases and it won’t be as fun. I’m a little worried about my bag being over weight again. At least this time if I go over it won’t be for a jar of peanut butter. I’m never going to live that down. And I don’t want to. Ever.

There will more than likely be one more (okay maybe two) posts before I retire this bad boy. Just to wrap up all loose ends, give some final thoughts, and try to be funny a couple more times before people don’t need to be updated on my life adventures anymore. Blogging has really become a part of me. It’ll be a tough one to give up when I come home. Peace and love, and happy eight days until Christmas! This is the moment when you should pull up Destiny’s Child’s “8 days of Christmas”. Here, I’ll even help you out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tt6Ot_WEHI

Leave a comment